Jesus Loves Me More Than I Love Him

Posted: February 25, 2013 in Theological Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ever since I was a little squirt I’ve known that Jesus loves me.  John 3:16 and the song Jesus Loves Me have been foundations securely stationed in my soul.  This month in youth group we’ve been learning about the Lord’s love for us and how we in return can love Him.  This past Sunday I experienced the love of Jesus in a very unique way.

While getting ready for my day I got down on my knees to spend a few moments praying.  My mind wandered and I wondered what entering the Throne Room of heaven would look  like considering the triunity of God.  I imagined three thrones set up for the Spirit, Son and Father.  That scene quickly dissolved (probably erased for heresy by Holy Spirit) and was replaced with one throne for God the Father and another throne at His right hand for Jesus the Son with Holy Spirit present to enable (see Luke 22:69, Hebrews 12:2, Revelation 22:1).

I approached the throne of God (see Hebrews 4:16).  Reverently I recited, “I come in the name of Jesus,” (see John 16:23) and looked to His throne.  I could vaguely see His face and it filled with warmth and welcome for me.  I felt a burst of excitement and love in my heart for my Savior and felt a rush of His love for me, far greater than my love for Him.  I realized that Jesus loves me far more than I have ever loved Him.  Immediately a prayer left my lips, “Help me to love You like You love me and to love others like You do.”

I understand that in and of myself I don’t love Jesus like He loves me.  For that matter, I don’t have the capacity to love Him like He deserves to be loved.  So, that prayer has become an anthem in my heart.

Matthew 22:37-39 NIV, “37 Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

Comments
  1. Meagan says:

    Thanks for sharing such an intimate experience, Josh!!

Leave a comment