Jesus & Jellyfish

Posted: November 17, 2013 in Theological Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,
Sunrise Prayer Jog Selfie

Sunrise Prayer Jog Selfie

Recently my wife and I vacationed in Daytona Beach. I would be starting a morning shift at Regions bank upon returning home (a very different environment from church work), so we decided to get up early during vacation to prepare my body. I leveraged that time to take sunrise prayer jogs along the beach.

During my jogs the tide would be going out dramatically (a fifty yard difference or more from high tide), leaving behind a thin sheen of water on the beach and a host of jellyfish stuck in it. Apparently, during evening high tide the jellyfish drifted far up on the beach and as the tide ebbed out they would linger and get stuck.

Beached Jellyfish

Beached Jellyfish

Seeing the scene, I thought of myself as a jellyfish in life, following the Lord into the world and reaching out to those in sin. If I’m the one influencing those in sin, I picture myself being far up on the beach during high tide. If I become influenced by and settled into sin myself, I imagine the tide ebbing away and myself lingering far up on the beach. Before I know it, the Lord’s Presence has gone out to sea but I’m left helplessly stuck on the beach.

Going into a ‘secular’ job at Regions this thought is key. I feel called by God to be at Regions at this point in my life. I have followed Him onto the bank ‘beach’ and I need to follow the Spirit’s lead in reaching out to those stuck in sin while not getting stuck myself.

Genesis 13:12 NIV, “Abram lived in the land of Canaan, while Lot lived among the cities of the plain and pitched his tents near Sodom”

Leave a Reply

