Skittles (& Scripture) Struggle

Posted: February 4, 2015 in Theological Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/6e/Skittles-Wild-Berry-Wrapper-Small.jpg

I like candy, normally dark chocolate but occasionally I’ll branch out and go for Skittles, especially in purple bags. When I pop them into my mouth, I struggle to know if I should chomp them up or suck them dry. If I chomp them up, my taste buds get instant gratification and my instinct to chew is pacified. If I suck them dry, the flavors are allowed to linger in my mouth and self control triumphs over instinct. The Skittles struggle is real.

Often, I approach God’s word with a similar struggle. When I open my Bible (usually my Bible app nowadays), I struggle to know if I should chomp passages up or suck them dry of meaning by taking the time to consider each concept. If I chomp them, my spiritual taste buds are tickled and my sense of ritualistic duty is satisfied. If I suck them dry, the concepts linger in my spirit and my relationship with God is strengthened. Well, I know I should suck but far too often I chomp.

Take John 3:16 for wpid-Photo-Dec-8-2012-445-PMexample. The reference can be seen in a variety of places – under Tim Tebow’s eyes, church signs, t-shirts and even in a Star Wars parody (which is awesome). When I was in Bible college, I did some street evangelism and met a man drunk as a skunk (I wonder where that expression came from) who quoted John 3:16 to me. The vast majority of Americans have chomped on John 3:16, but how many have sucked it dry?

John 3:16 is an external example, but what about you and me? Do we give in and chomp our way through scriptures or do we suck them dry? Too often I settle for chomping. With the Lord’s help, I will suck!

Matthew 5:18 ESV, For truly, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass from the Law until all is accomplished.

Comments
  1. Saint Baker says:

    First off, great (dope lol) post, man. I have personally encountered this myself, and what I have found is that as my relationship with God is strengthened, so is my ability to truly understand God’s vision for me daily, monthly, yearly, etc.. I say that to say this Josh, I feel it is acceptable to chomp up the word at times, specifically for daily refreshers, but maybe not so much when He has spoken a specific passage to us via the holy spirit that guides us from within.

    So, if he placed the scripture of John 3:16 on your heart, right next to that superman logo…”chomping” will not satisfy.

    When he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth.” (John 16:13)

    • jtcalaway says:

      I appreciate the comment. You bring up good points. To further borrow from the eating metaphor, I think chomping could be viewed as snacking. Snacking is good and I certainly love to smack spiritually and physically but it needs to be balanced with larger meals. It’s easy to fall in the trap of just chomping all the time and not taking the time to really “suck”.

      Great, and great to hear from you sir.

Leave a Reply

