If I said, “Joseph in the Bible”, what would come to your mind? Old Testament hero? A coat of many colors? Sale to slavery by brothers? A movie with Sir Ben Kingsley shining as Potiphar? Maybe you would think of Jesus’ father. It seems like that is all he is known for. Growing up, my sister was popular and often I would hear “Oh, hi, you’re Katie’s brother.” Applying that same logic, Joseph may have heard, “Oh, hi, you’re Jesus’ earthly father.”

Since the New Year, I have been slowly reading the book of Matthew. In chapter 2 we see The Other Joseph sleeping at home with Mary and baby Jesus. God tells Joseph in a dream to escape to Egypt because King Herod is going to try to kill baby Jesus. It would have been easy to slip back to sleep and deal with leaving in the morning. Who wants to pack up and go anywhere in the middle of the night (except maybe for a Sonic blast)? Instead, Joseph immediately woke up the family and they hurriedly left for Egypt. Joseph’s precise and prompt obedience protected Jesus and fulfilled prophecy.

In my family, when our schedules allow, we like to take afternoon walks. Last week, Becki pushed Clark in our double stroller and I walked / jogged with Daniel. He likes to run and have me chase him while he sings Can’t Catch Me I’m the Gingerbread Man. Off in the distance I noticed a car coming our way. I told Daniel to come with me to the side of the street. He looked around, slowly moved toward the side, and asked “Whyyyyyyyy”. I grabbed his shoulder and pulled while I told him to move because a car was coming. His precise and prompt obedience was necessary for his protection even if he was unable to see what I could see. It’s the same with our walk with our heavenly Father!

Lord God, thank you for allowing me to walk with you through this life. Thank you for the joy we get to have on the journey. Remind me that you can see so much more than I do. Help me to trust your love and care for me when you ask me to obey even if I don’t understand. Holy Spirit, enable me to have precise and prompt obedience. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a comment